I am a PhD candidate in the Human Centered Computing program at Georgia Tech.  I work in Dr. Elizabeth Mynatt‘s Everyday Computing Lab.  My studies focus on how social computing technologies can impact everyday wellness and behavior.  I am specifically interested in how technology use and participation in online communities impact social and emotional health, especially as it relates to eating disorders and self-harm. 

For the last 12 years, I have worked as a full-time researcher at the Georgia Tech Research Institute where I have worked in the Socio Technical Systems Division in the Information and Communications Laboratory.  My work has focused primarily on patterns of technology use, cyber safety, and digital citizenship for students across Georgia.  In this capacity.  I have worked with students, educators, administrators and parents to gain a deeper context of how technology impacts social and educational environments.  My current work looks at how to incorporate user needs in the development of health information systems for the military.

My full CV can be found here.

Below is a brief review of what I have been up to lately and what is on the horizon.

CHI 2018
CHI 2018 is here! On Saturday I will be participating in the 2nd annual Computing and Mental Health Symposium. On Sunday I will be participating in the Workshop on Interactive Systems in Health (WISH). My poster for the WISH workshop can be found here.

ICED 2018 Presentation
I have been invited to participate in the 2018 Academy of Eating Disorder’s annual International Conference on Eating Disorders (ICED). The presentation, Characterizing the Presentation of Eating Disorders Across Social Media Platforms – lexical variation and behavioral archetypes, will review past work and be a sneak peak on new work looking at gendered differences of eating disorder content online.

CCC Workshop Invitation
I have been invited to participate in the Computing Community Consortium (CCC)’s workshop on Sociotechnical Interventions for Health Disparity Reduction. This workshop brings together researchers in computing, health informatics, and behavioral medicine to develop an integrative research agenda regarding sociotechnical interventions to reduce health disparities and improve the health of socio-economically disadvantaged populations. Click here to learn more about the event.

New gig!
Starting next month I will be joining the Parkview Health Research Center as a consulting research scientist! In this position, I will focus on helping develop new projects focused on understanding technology integration and impacts in the mental health domain. I will continue my full-time job the Georgia Tech Research Institute. 

CHIM Presentation
I have been invited to present my work on Defining Digital Self-harm at the 2018 Consumer Health Informatics in the Midwest Meeting in Fort Wayne, IN. This workshop will start a dialogue between consumer health informatics researchers, beginning with scholars who are located close to one another geographically. The purpose of the meeting will be to share information about ongoing projects and explore collaborative opportunities.